Banana Cupcakes with Cream Cheese Icing

April 19, 2009

photos-69272670821

These cupcakes are hands down my favourite. The icing is probably the best part which is why my second favourite cupcakes are red velvet (I will get around to making these eventually).

This recipe has taken me a little while to perfect – one day I decided to try the combination of vanilla, cinnamon and banana and it was amazing… the aroma that filled the house as they came out of the oven freshly baked was just incredible.

photos-69272670621

I’ve been hesitant to post the recipe because I like it being a secret; but I realised that you can give the same recipe to a bunch of people and the end result will all be completely different. It’s amazing how it works, this recipe might work wonders for me because I created it but it might completely fail for someone else simply because of attitude. In the end though, what does it really matter? Recipes should be, like food shared amongst anybody who is interested.

So here you are, a dozen banana cupcakes just waiting to be baked. I know it’s all in metric but it shouldn’t be too hard to convert… one of these days I promise I will write both measurements in!

photos-69272671021

Banana Cupcakes with Cream Cheese Icing
Makes 12

125g butter, softened
3/4 cups brown sugar
2 eggs
1 tsp vanilla extract
1/4 tsp ground cinnamon
2 ripe bananas, mashed
1 1/2 cups self-raising flour
100ml milk
Walnuts (optional)

Cream Cheese Icing

30g butter, softened
125g cream cheese, softened
2 cups icing sugar

Preheat oven to 160C

Cream the butter and sugar together until fluffy. Beat in the eggs one at a time, and add the vanilla and cinnamon. Beat in the bananas. Sift the flour and gently fold into the mixture, alternating with the milk.

Spoon into 12 prepared cupcake cases and bake for 15-20 minutes* until a toothpick inserted into the middle comes out clean.

To make the icing: Beat the butter until fluffy and pale. Add the cream cheese and beat well, and slowly add the icing sugar until the icing is thick and creamy.
When the cupcakes are cool spoon or pipe a generous amount of icing onto each cupcake and top with a walnut.

Note: DO NOT refridgerate these cupcakes! They will dry out so eat them at room temperature. If you plan to eat them a day or two ahead, leave the icing to the last minute and keep the icing in the fridge.

*This is an estimated time; I don’t actually pay attention to how long they bake for I just look 😛

photos-69272672321

18 Responses to “Banana Cupcakes with Cream Cheese Icing”

  1. imadumpling Says:

    I had just made banana bread and thought, this would be nice if I could make it into muffins and put cream cheese frosting on top. Haha, thanks for the recipe, I will have to try it.

  2. heidileon Says:

    very good recipe, maybe I would cut down a bit the sugar, have you tried that?.

    I agree with you never refrigerate cupcakes or they will become rubber like, and also on the estimated time, is always that, estimated time, each oven is different, I’m glad to find a blogger who trust more on the appearance of the product (and herself) than a book or recipe

  3. RecipeGirl Says:

    Rather delicious looking little cupcakes. I’ve often thought that banana bread should be viewed more as dessert than breakfast food!

  4. Vanelle Says:

    I’m definitely going to try them =)
    Great blog!
    Cheers!

  5. viktoryian Says:

    Looking at those pic I can only say: mmmmmmm!!!
    ViktoryiaN

  6. igiftabasket Says:

    OMG! I am soooooooooo motivated to bake these. They look yummy and sounds as heavenly! Do u have any good low cholestrol, sugar recipes.
    Great blog!
    rashmi:-)
    http://www.igiftabasket.com

  7. Pablo Says:

    Yours is a delicious blog. Cheers!

  8. wm1 Says:

    Beautiful photography, (and yummy). One little change, I have stopped using vanilla extract. I know it is “easy” to use but it does not compare with whole vanilla beans. I found an online Spice co. called Juliet Mae that sells whole vanilla beans and vanilla sugar. Its affordable and the taste is like the difference between fresh and canned.

    • somemoreplease Says:

      Oooh I’ve been meaning to use vanilla bean… even to make my own vanilla sugar. Thanks for that, you’ve reminded me that I need to go out and get some and stop being so lazy… I really want to have a go at making my own vanilla ice cream 🙂

  9. melissastefanic Says:

    Those look sooo good! Anything with bananas is very pleasing! 🙂

    What a wonderful website!

    Melissa @ For the Love of Health
    http://www.fortheloveofhealth.wordpress.com


  10. I made these a couple of days ago and they were so, so good! My entire family loved them. I did a write up with a link to this post on my blog.

    Thanks for the fantastic recipe!

    ~ Jennifer

    http://jennifersjunkylife.typepad.com/whimsical_junk/2009/05/banana-cupcakes-with-cream-cheese-icingmakes-12–12-c-butter-softened34-c-brown-sugar2-eggs1-tsp-vanilla-extract14-tsp.html


  11. Mouth watering! lOOKS SO GOOD


  12. I wanna try these!! They look incredible! Ty!!

  13. Amanda Bourne Says:

    Love the blog.


  14. breakfast foods should always be high in carbohydrates to provide the energy you need in the mornign .

  15. myra Says:

    hello, i just wanted to say that your cupcakes looks so scrumptious…could you please provide the measurements for this cupcake in cup measurements…im not sure on grams…thank you again for the yummy recipes and lovely pictures

  16. judy reid Says:

    Don’t understand why some of the recipe is in metric measure, makes it difficult, would like to make them, looks so good.

    • somemoreplease Says:

      Hi Judy, I’m Australian so we don’t use imperial measurements. There are quite a few online converters if you need to change this from metric.


Leave a comment