Deviled Eggs

May 10, 2009

Photos 692726912_edited-2

I love deviled eggs… they are just the easiest thing to make in the world and they look amazing.
There are so many recipes for deviled eggs online, but I’ve noticed a strange trend… they seem to all be lacking curry powder. I have always thought deviled eggs had curry powder, how else are they ‘deviled’? Ah who knows, but I love this recipe and they are eaten so quickly. I made some for a work morning tea a few weeks ago and one particular woman just kept coming back for more.
I noticed they are more popular with women, I asked one of the male workers if he was going to try one and he said they looked “too delicate”. Haha I suppose they do.

The curry powder I use is Keen’s. Deviled eggs is probably the only recipe that I would actually use curry powder in – never EVER for an actual curry; that is blasphemy in our house. It’s the perfect flavour for these though, it seems to stir childhood memories of curried egg sandwiches which I think is the reason why they are so popular.

I pipe my filling back into the eggs, but you can always spoon it in too. They are so easy to make! And they taste so good. I always end up with extra filling so I put it into a sandwich. Nom nom.

On hard-boiling eggs; it’s quite easy. Carefully place the eggs into a saucepan of water and let it boil. Stir a few times so the yolks don’t settle right on the edge. Boil for about 10-15 minutes and they’re done.

So here’s the recipe. Perfect for your next dinner party or morning tea, or just because you can!

Deviled Eggs
Makes 12

6 eggs, hard-boiled
2 tbs mayonnaise
1 tsp curry powder (I use Keen’s)
1/4 tsp dijon mustard
Salt and pepper to taste
Paprika

Cut each hard-boiled egg in half and scoup the yolks out into a bowl. Mash the yolks with a fork and add the mayonnaise, curry powder, mustard, salt and pepper. Stir until smooth, add more mayonnaise if it looks a little dry.
Spoon the mixture into a piping bag and pipe the mixture into each empty egg. Sprinkle with paprika.

Enjoy!

Photos 6927269162

5 Responses to “Deviled Eggs”

  1. Ruby Anne Says:

    Hi,

    That’s a very nice post that you have there. What do you think of linking to Menulog in your blogroll? After all, Menulog is a very nice and useful restaurant guide too. In fact, I could give you discount voucher which you could use for any competitions or promos that you plan to have here in your blog.

    Please let me know what you think.

    Thanks,
    Ruby Anne

  2. abbielie Says:

    yummm~ deviled eggs ^^


  3. I’d like to personally invite you to join the CookEatShare Author network. CookEatShare has had over 2.5 million unique visitors in 2009, and I think they will be interested in your content. Users will be guided to your actual blog, so this is a free way to increase page views and visitors to your site.

    Please contact me at mary@cookeatshare.com for more information, to get unique link to claim and customize your profile. Please visit http://cookeatshare.com/blogs/apply for additional information.

  4. hamza Says:

    Nice recipe….!!!Looks yummy!!!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 31 other followers

