Pear and Banana Loaf

December 5, 2008

loaf2

About a week ago I posed the question of what to do with a bunch of pears. Last night I looked around the kitchen and saw that I still had those pears and also some really ripe bananas. I decided to bake a pear and banana loaf. It’s really easy to put together… and the result is moist and fruity with a hint of cinnamon.

My little brother is four years old and my favourite critic. He said, “It melts in my mouth” and that he “loves the crust the best”. Now that is the best compliment.

This loaf is just perfect with butter for a Saturday morning breakfast. Or if you really want to impress some guests this doesn’t take long to put together. Just don’t expect it to last long!

This recipe uses oil rather than butter. You can use any oil, I recommend extra virgin if you have it. Oil is actually healthier for you than butter. Whilst there are more calories per tablespoon, oil is monounsaturated fat and low in cholesterol which in the grand scheme of things is a lot better for you.

Enjoy! I know I did :)

Pear and Banana Loaf

1 1/2 cups self raising flour
2/3 cups brown sugar
1/4 tsp ground cinnamon
1/2 tsp bicarbonate of soda
2 eggs, lightly whisked
1/2 cup milk
1/3 cup oil
1 cup chopped ripe bananas
1 cup chopped ripe pears

Preheat the oven to 170C

Sift the flour into bowl and combine with the sugar, cinnamon and soda. Make a well in the center.

In a seperate bowl whisk together the eggs, milk and oil. Fold into the flour mixture and mix until well combined (don’t beat). Gently stir in the fruit.

Pour into a greased and lined loaf tin and bake for 45-50 minutes or until golden and cooked through. Cool for 5 minutes before slicing and serve.

Tastes great warm or cold.

loaf3

9 Responses to “Pear and Banana Loaf”

  1. Irene Says:

    Looks awesome, and I bet the flavors come through perfectly. One for me, please!


  2. I would not have thought to put pear in a Banana bread but sounds really good. Nice photography BTW.

  3. sal Says:

    I’ve just whipped this up and it smells divine. I’ve also blogged it ;)

    http://flowerchild.com.au/blog/?p=42


  4. […] out of berries.  Let’s google pear recipes and see what we find then…..mmmmm, on the somemoreplease blog, I find pear and banana […]


  5. […] Pear and Banana Loaf: Last night I looked around the kitchen and saw that I still had those pears and also some really ripe bananas. I decided to bake a pear and banana loaf. It’s really easy to put together… and the result is moist and fruity with a hint of cinnamon. From Some More Please! […]


  6. […] Pear and Banana Loaf: Last night I looked around the kitchen and saw that I still had those pears and also some really ripe bananas. I decided to bake a pear and banana loaf. It’s really easy to put together… and the result is moist and fruity with a hint of cinnamon. From Some More Please! […]


  7. This sounds so good! Yum!

  8. josaphene Says:

    going to give this a go but i have no bananas so i will put some sultanas in instead…here goes wish me luck lol.

    • somemoreplease Says:

      Good luck! Without the banana it probably won’t be as moist, but the addition of sultanas sounds lovely :)


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 31 other followers

